Yes. Each of the four UK lenders whose published loan pages this desk read on 3 October 2026, smile (The Co-operative Bank), Nationwide, Stream and Tesco Bank, says you can make overpayments on a personal loan, and none of the four lists a fee for a partial overpayment. What differs is how you pay and what the extra money changes.

This is an evergreen question rather than a news story. The answer below rests only on what those four pages say.

Can I make overpayments on a personal loan in the UK at these four lenders?

LenderHow you payNotice first?What the overpayment changesFee
smileBranch or phone; not onlineYes: register your intention (loans taken out after 10 June 2010)Reduces the termNone stated for a partial repayment
NationwideInternet-bank transfer from a Nationwide account (Option 1; later options not read)Not stated in the part readDirect Debit unchanged; loan paid off faster“No charges”
StreamBank transfer to the details under “Pay extra” in the appNot stated for an overpayment; asked before full settlementNot stated“No fee”
Tesco BankBank transfer, payment portal, standing order or chequeNot statedReduces the term unless you ask otherwiseNo

The sharpest difference is smile’s: it cannot take an overpayment online, and you must register your intention to make a partial early repayment before you pay.

Does overpaying reduce the term or the monthly payment?

At two of the four, the term. Tesco Bank’s page says an overpayment reduces the length of time you borrow for unless you have asked otherwise, and that it writes within 7 working days with the interest saved, the new balance and the term remaining. It also says arrears are paid off first, and that your usual Direct Debit still goes out that month.

Nationwide says the monthly Direct Debit will not change but the loan is paid off faster. Stream’s help page, as read, does not say which of the two an overpayment changes; ask before you pay if it matters to you.

How is an overpayment different from paying the loan off?

An overpayment is extra money while the loan carries on. Repaying the whole loan is settlement, and the pages treat it separately: smile may charge an additional 28 or 58 days’ interest on full early repayment, and Stream asks you to contact support for a settlement quote first. Our piece on why a settlement figure includes 58 days’ interest explains that charge. If you have only just signed, the question may be cancelling the loan instead.

What this desk could not confirm

The statute page on legislation.gov.uk refused our request, so this piece states no legal right to overpay and no notice period. Our fetch of Santander’s page reached only navigation text, so it is left out.

Overpayment questions answered

Is there a penalty for overpaying a personal loan?

None of the four pages this desk read lists one for a partial overpayment. Nationwide says there are no charges, Stream says no fee, and Tesco Bank answers its own charge question with no. smile’s page names no fee for a partial repayment, though it may add 28 or 58 days’ interest if you repay the whole loan early.

Does overpaying a loan reduce the interest?

Tesco Bank says an overpayment shortens the time you borrow for, so there is less interest to be charged and you could save money overall. It adds that the saving is unique to each loan and depends on how many payments are left, and it writes to confirm the interest saved.

Is it worth overpaying a personal loan?

That depends on your own loan and finances, and this desk does not give advice. The pages read do set out the checks: whether your lender wants notice first, whether the extra money shortens the term or leaves the payment unchanged, and, at Tesco Bank, that arrears are cleared before anything else.

Loan Herald is a publisher, not a lender or broker, and is not authorised by the Financial Conduct Authority. Read your own credit agreement before you overpay; for how we weigh a loan’s terms more broadly, see our assessment of the UK personal loan.