Usually, yes. Citizens Advice says you have 14 days to cancel once you have signed, and if you already have the money the lender must give you 30 days to repay it. Nationwide says its window ends 15 days after it gives you a copy of the signed agreement. After that, ending the loan means settling early.
Updated 16 October 2026: new title and summary; Citizens Advice 14/30-day account, coverage check and written notice added; ERC named; FAQ reworded for spent money, with Citizens Advice added on cancelling after 14 days.
That is an evergreen question, not news. This desk read the cancellation pages of Nationwide, Zable, Ocean Finance and Santander on 23 September 2026 and set their wording side by side. On 16 October 2026 it re-read those four pages, found their wording on the window, interest, repayment and the unsigned offer unchanged, and read Citizens Advice’s page on cancelling a loan or credit agreement.
Can I cancel a personal loan after signing in the UK?
Yes, within the window your agreement states. Zable’s guide says the right comes from section 66A of the Consumer Credit Act 1974, needs no reason, and covers most personal loans, while loans secured on your home work differently. This desk has not read section 66A or any FCA text on withdrawal, so the 14 days is Zable’s and Ocean’s account, and the 15 days is Nationwide’s account of its own terms.
Citizens Advice, whose advice applies to England, says an agreement covered by the Consumer Credit Act should say so at the top of its first page. It says notice is best given in writing, and the agreement tells you who to contact and how; Ocean says by email or letter.
What four pages say about the right to withdraw
Every row is scoped to the page read on 23 September 2026; “not stated” means not stated in the text we read.
| Page read | Window | When it starts | Interest if you withdraw | Repay within |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Nationwide Building Society (cancelling-your-loan help page) | Ends 15 days after the trigger | Nationwide gives you a copy of the signed agreement, or tells you in writing it is signed | None, “as long as you repay within 30 days” | 30 days of telling Nationwide |
| Zable (cancelling-a-loan guide, updated 31 July 2026) | 14 days | Day after the agreement is made or after you receive the signed copy, whichever is later | For the days you had the money; daily figure set out in the agreement | 30 days of giving notice |
| Ocean Finance, credit broker (guide last updated 8 July 2026) | 14 days | Day you sign or receive a copy of the terms, whichever is later | The interest that built up while you had it | 30 days of telling the lender |
| Santander UK (cancel-loan-application page) | Not stated: the page covers only the unsigned offer | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
Two differences matter. Nationwide counts 15 days, not 14, and of these four pages it is the only one that states no interest is charged; the other two that address withdrawal say interest runs for the days you held the money.
Can I cancel before I sign?
Yes. Santander’s page says: don’t sign the credit agreement, and the application is cancelled 28 days after you received the loan offer, though the search on your credit file stays; soft searches are covered in Soft-search eligibility checks are useful — and widely misunderstood. Zable says an unsigned application can be withdrawn by telling the lender; Ocean says an approved offer can simply be declined. Ocean adds that a lender can itself pull an approved offer before you sign, for instance if your circumstances change.
What happens after the window closes?
The agreement stands. Zable and Ocean both say that after 14 days you can no longer withdraw, only repay early, and that a lender may charge for doing so, which Ocean calls an early repayment charge (ERC). That is settlement, where the quote usually includes interest to a date ahead, explained in Why does my loan settlement figure include 58 days interest?.
Questions readers ask about cancelling a loan
Can I cancel a loan if I’ve already spent the money?
Yes, according to Zable and Ocean, provided you are within the 14-day window, but withdrawing still means repaying: you give notice and repay the full amount within 30 days. Zable says you also pay interest for the days you held the money; Nationwide says it charges none if you repay within 30 days. Nationwide adds that you cannot re-open the loan once you have withdrawn.
Is there a fee to cancel a loan within 14 days?
Zable says using the right to withdraw is free, and Ocean says it carries no penalty fees. That is not the same as costing nothing: both say the interest accrued while you held the money is payable. Nationwide, alone among the four pages read, says no interest is charged if you repay within 30 days.
Does cancelling a loan hurt my credit score?
Not in itself, on the pages read. Zable says withdrawing is not recorded as a negative mark, but the hard search from applying stays; Santander says cancelling an application won’t remove it. The pages disagree on how long it shows: Zable says up to two years, Ocean says 12 months.
Can I cancel a loan after 14 days?
Not by withdrawing, say Zable and Ocean; after their 14 days you can only settle the loan early, and the lender may charge for that. Citizens Advice likewise sends readers past 14 days to its guidance on paying off a credit agreement early. Nationwide’s page puts its own window at 15 days from the signed-agreement copy or written confirmation, so check which count your agreement uses.
Where this desk stands
The sources are Nationwide’s cancelling-your-loan page, Zable’s guide to cancelling a loan and Santander’s cancel-loan-application page, with Ocean Finance’s guide read alongside, all on 23 September 2026 and re-read on 16 October 2026, plus Citizens Advice’s page on cancelling a loan or credit agreement, read on 16 October 2026. Loan Herald is a publisher, not a lender or credit broker, and is not authorised or regulated by the Financial Conduct Authority; nothing here is advice on whether to take or cancel any loan. The terms that bind you are the ones in your own agreement. Check any firm on the FCA Register before you deal with it.