Usually, yes, but “top up” means one of two things. All five UK lenders whose pages this desk read on 8 October 2026 let an existing borrower borrow more: either the old loan is closed into a larger new one at a new rate and term, or a separate second loan sits beside it.
This is an evergreen question, quoted from each lender’s own wording; lenders change these terms.
Can I top up my personal loan in the UK at these five lenders?
| Lender | Options on the page | History needed | Amounts | Credit check | Settling the old loan |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Tesco Bank | Second loan, or replace with a larger loan | Each loan held 8 months, no missed repayment in the last 8 | At least £3,000 more; £35,000 total; two loans at most | “a new credit search” | 28 days’ interest added to the new balance |
| HSBC | Additional loan, or a Top Up Loan combining both | Not stated | £1,000 to £30,000 | Quote “without affecting your credit rating” | Not stated for top-ups |
| Barclays | Top-up that closes the old loan, or an additional loan | Not stated | Up to £50,000 | Quote “won’t affect your credit score”, “in many cases” | Not stated for top-ups |
| Nationwide | Top up, or a new loan | Not in part read | £50,000 total across your loans | Not in part read | Not in part read |
| Post Office (Lendable) | Second loan, or close and combine | Not stated | £1,000 to £25,000 over 1 to 5 years | Soft check; hard search on full application | A second loan avoids charges on the original |
In the text this desk read, only Tesco Bank’s page states a holding period; “Not stated” in the table means not found in that text.
What happens to the old loan when you top up?
A combined top-up is a new loan that pays off the old one. Barclays says it will “close your existing loan and open one new combined one”.
Because the old loan is settled, settlement interest can apply. On a replacement, Tesco Bank adds 28 days’ interest to the new balance as an early settlement fee, while the same page’s FAQ says settling early costs “up to two months’ interest”. We report both as worded; our piece on why a settlement figure includes 58 days’ interest explains those periods.
Post Office, whose loans are provided by Lendable, says you do not borrow more on the existing loan: you take a second loan, or close the first and combine. Tesco Bank warns that cancelling a replacement loan in its 14-day cooling-off period does not restore the old loan.
Does topping up a loan affect your credit score?
The quote and the application differ. HSBC says its quote does not affect your credit rating, Barclays its score “in many cases”; Tesco Bank runs a new credit search when you apply, and Post Office a hard search on a full application. Our explainer on soft-search eligibility checks covers what a quote shows.
What this desk could not confirm
Our fetch of Nationwide’s page filled with navigation, so its other terms are not reported. HSBC’s early repayment wording, interest up to 28 days after notice plus a month on agreements over 12 months, is not tied to top-ups in the text read.
Top-up loan questions answered
Will my APR change with a top-up loan?
It can. Barclays says the new loan may have a different interest rate and term. Tesco Bank says its rate may be higher than your current rate or its representative APR. Post Office says the new APR applies to the whole combined amount, and a lower rate is not guaranteed.
Is a top-up loan different to a debt consolidation loan?
On the pages read, a top-up consolidates the loan you already hold with that lender: HSBC says it consolidates your existing loan into one monthly repayment. Barclays lists consolidating existing debts among the uses of a top-up. None of the pages read compares the two products directly.
Can you pay off a loan early?
Barclays and Tesco Bank say yes. Barclays charges no early repayment fees, though a full repayment includes any other interest that is due. Tesco Bank says settling early costs up to two months’ interest. HSBC sets out the regulatory formula it uses to work out that interest.
Loan Herald is a publisher, not a lender or broker, and is not authorised by the Financial Conduct Authority. Nothing here is advice; see also why the rate offered can differ.